Compass Skills

Compass Points

The compass is split into 4 Cardinal Points:

There are various ways to remember the order:

In-between these points are inter-cardinal points. There are:

Compass Bearings

Three steps to taking a simple compass bearing:

When out in the field, with the compass set at the bearing you wish to travel, turn the compass so that the needle points to the "N" on the compass, and the direction of travel arrow will then point the way in which you wish to go. Find a landmark in that direction and walk towards it, checking your bearing as you travel.